single album

Artist: BREAD
Release date:
27 October 2017
Genre: Soft rock
Posted by: Musictour Admin



Six-Disc Boxed Set Spotlights Every Studio Album The Group Recorded Between 1969 And 1977 And Includes Memorable Hits Like “Make It With You” And “If”

Available On October 27 From Rhino

Bread was a leading voice in the soft-rock era that took hold of radio waves across America in the Seventies. During an eight-year run with Elektra Records, the California quartet scored unforgettable hits with “If,” “Baby I’m-a Want You,” and its 1970 chart-topping smash hit, “Make It With You.”

Rhino celebrates the band’s incredible success with a new boxed set that includes all six of Bread’s studio albums. THE ELEKTRA YEARS: THE COMPLETE ALBUM COLLECTION will be available on October 27 on CD and digital download.

The set includes: Bread (1969), On The Waters (1970), Manna (1971), Baby I’m-a Want You (1972), Guitar Man (1972), and Lost Without Your Love (1977). Each album is presented in a sleeve that replicates the original release’s artwork. All six CDs come packaged in a handsome clamshell box.

Shortly after David Gates, Robb Royer and Jimmy Griffin formed Bread, the trio signed to Elektra Records in 1969. Working with session drummer Jim Gordon, the group recorded its eponymous debut album and released their single – “Dismal Day.”

The following year, Mike Botts replaced Gordon on drums, and the newly formed line-up recorded Bread’s sophomore effort, On The Waters. The album was the first of the group’s string of five consecutive gold-certified records and included “Make It With You,” the band’s biggest hit and their only #1 record on the Billboard Hot 100. The quartet returned in 1971 with Manna, which featured “If,” a song that topped the Easy Listening chart that same year.

The band continued to evolve in 1972 when Royer left and was replaced by Larry Knechtel. This incarnation released two stellar albums that year: Baby I’m-a Want You and Guitar Man – which peaked at #3 and #18 on the Billboard album chart respectively. Several hits appeared on those records, including “Everything I Own” and “Sweet Surrender,” as well as the title tracks from both albums.

THE ELEKTRA YEARS collection concludes with Bread’s 1977 reunion album, Lost Without Your Love. The title track stands as the group’s sixth and final Top 10 hit.


CD Track Listing:

Bread (1969)

  1. “Dismal Day”
  2. “London Bridge”
  3. “Could I”
  4. “Look At Me”
  5. “The Last Time”
  6. “Any Way You Want Me”
  7. “Move Over”
  8. “Don’t Shut Me Out”
  9. “You Can’t Measure The Cost”
  10. “Family Doctor”
  11. “It Don’t Matter To Me”
  12. “Friends And Lovers”

On The Waters (1970)

  1. “Why Do You Keep Me Waiting”
  2. “Make It With You”
  3. “Blue Satin Pillow”
  4. “Look What You’ve Done”
  5. “I Am That I Am”
  6. “Been Too Long On The Road”
  7. “I Want You With Me”
  8. “Coming Apart”
  9. “Easy Love”
  10. “In The Afterglow”
  11. “Call On Me”
  12. “The Other Side Of Life”

Manna (1971)

  1. “Let Your Love Go”
  2. “Take Comfort”
  3. “Too Much Love”
  4. “If”
  5. “Be Kind To Me”
  6. “He’s A Good Lad”
  7. “She Was My Lady”
  8. “Live In Your Love”
  9. “What A Change”
  10. “I Say Again”
  11. “Come Again”
  12. “Truckin’”

Baby I’m-A Want You (1972)

  1. “Mother Freedom”
  2. “Baby I’m-A Want You”
  3. “Down On My Knees”
  4. “Everything I Own”
  5. “Nobody Like You”
  6. “Diary”
  7. “Dream Lady”
  8. “Daughter”
  9. “Games Of Magic”
  10. “This Isn’t What The Governmeant”
  11. “Just Like Yesterday”
  12. “I Don’t Love You”

Guitar Man (1972)

  1. “Welcome To The Music”
  2. “Guitar Man”
  3. “Make It By Yourself”
  4. “Aubrey”
  5. “Fancy Dancer”
  6. “Sweet Surrender”
  7. “Tecolote”
  8. “Let Me Go”
  9. “Yours For Life”
  10. “Picture In Your Mind”
  11. “Don’t Tell Me No”
  12. “Didn’t Even Know Her Name”

Lost Without Your Love (1977)

  1. “Hooked On You”
  2. “She’s The Only One”
  3. “Lost Without Your Love”
  4. “Change Of Heart”
  5. “Belonging”
  6. “Fly Away”
  7. “Lay Your Money Down”
  8. “The Chosen One”
  9. “Today’s The First Day”
  10. “Hold Tight”
  11. “Our Lady Of Sorrow”