single album

Artist: The Sisters Of Mercy
Release date:
01 September 2017
Genre: Gothic rock
Posted by: Musictour Admin

The Sisters Of Mercy - “Some Girls Wander By Mistake”

The Sisters Of Mercy

Four LP Boxed Set Spotlights The Group’s
Early Years With Singles, EPs And More

180-Gram Vinyl and Digital Versions Available On September 1

The Sisters of Mercy will continue to spotlight different eras of its acclaimed discography this summer with a new vinyl box set that focuses on the band’s early years, as well as their last officially released studio recordings.

Available on September 1, SOME GIRLS WANDER BY MISTAKE includes four 180-gram vinyl records. In addition, the remastered music will also be released digitally. The Sisters of Mercy, led by founder Andrew Eldritch, will tour Europe this summer. A complete list of those tour dates are listed below.

Originally released in 1992, the double compilation LP SOME GIRLS WANDER BY MISTAKE retraces The Sisters Of Mercy’s formative years and their rise to cult acclaim. It includes three songs the group originally issued on 45rpm on their own Merciful Release imprint in 1980: “The Damage Done,” “Watch,” and “Home Of The Hit-Men.” Also included in this set is the band’s 1982 follow-up single: “Body Electric” and “Adrenochrome.”

Arranged in non-chronological order, SOME GIRLS WANDER BY MISTAKE begins with all four songs from The Sisters of Mercy’s first 12” EP Alice, which was originally released in 1983. The music – produced by Psychedelic Furs’ guitarist John Ashton – includes the EP’s title track, a cover of the Stooges “1969” and more.

The first LP’s flipside collects music that originally appeared on The Sisters Of Mercy’s second EP, The Reptile House (1983). Among tracks are “Kiss The Carpet,” “Burn,” and the haunting “Lights.” Later that year the band released the single “Temple of Love” backed with “Heartland” and a cover the Rolling Stones’ “Gimme Shelter,” all of which are included here.

SOME GIRLS WANDER BY MISTAKE also includes music from two 12” singles. The first is a re-recorded version of “Temple of Love” from 1992 that features Israeli vocalist Ofra Haza, and remains the Sisters’ biggest international hit, peaking at #3 on the UK charts. The second is “Under The Gun,” their final release, from 1993, which includes an updated version of “Alice.”

This collection’s title comes from a lyric in the Leonard Cohen song “Teachers,” a track the Sisters cover frequently in concert. In fact, “Teachers” appears on the same album as the song “Sisters of Mercy,” which inspired the band’s name.


Track Listing

Side One

  1. “Alice”
  2. “Floorshow”
  3. “Phantom”
  4. “1969”

Side Two

  1. “Kiss The Carpet”
  2. “Lights”
  3. “Valentine”
  4. “Fix”
  5. “Burn”
  6. “Kiss The Carpet” – Reprise

Side Three

  1. “Temple Of Love” – Extended Version 1983
  2. “Heartland”
  3. “Gimme Shelter”

Side Four

  1. “The Damage Done”
  2. “Watch”
  3. “Home Of The Hit-Men”
  4. “Body Electric”
  5. “Adrenochrome”
  6. “Anaconda”

Temple of Love (12”)

Side One

  1. “Temple Of Love” – Touched by the Hands of Ofra Haza

Side Two

  1. “Vision Thing” – Canadian Club Remix

Under The Gun (12”)

Side One

  1. “Under The Gun” – Metropolis Mix

Side Two

  1. “Alice” – 1993 Version
  2. “Under The Gun” – Jutland Mix

Sisters of Mercy

2017 European Tour Dates


  • 1 London United Kingdom Camden Roundhouse
  • 2 London United Kingdom Camden Roundhouse
  • 4 Brussels Belgium Ancienne Belgique
  • 7 Hamburg Germany Docks
  • 8 Gothenburg Sweden Trädgår'n
  • 9 Stockholm Sweden Arenan
  • 11 Malmö Sweden KB
  • 12 Berlin Germany Columbiahalle
  • 14 Gdansk Poland B90
  • 15 Warsaw Poland Progresja
  • 17 Dresden Germany Schlachthof
  • 18 Stuttgart Germany Longhorn
  • 20 Budapest Hungary A38
  • 21 Vienna Austria Gasometer
  • 23 Wiesbaden Germany Schlachthof
  • 24 Dortmund Germany FZW
  • 26 Esch-sur-Alzette Luxembourg Rockhal
  • 27 Amsterdam The Netherlands Paradiso